Betting in Boston

Going out to a concert is not something I do anymore. It sucks to say really because going to shows, especially punk and metal concerts, has always been my thing. However, in July I will proudly and unashamedly admit that I will be turning 37 years old. I hate when people say “37 years YOUNG”. You’re not getting any younger, sorry to tell ya chief. Anywho, my boyfriend and I reluctantly attended this Monday night show at the Santander Arena in Reading, PA because we absolutely love the Dropkick Murphys. In fact, one of the main components that we bonded over when we first met was their music and if you ask me, music is an absolute deal breaker in a relationship, just sayin. The 2 head liners we saw weren’t bad, if you enjoy an Australian flute punk band and amateur players from LA with poor sound quality (yes, they tried and got an A+ for effort). The real energy filled the stadium was of course when the Murphy’s came on stage. Hearing their story that the lead singer, Ken Casey shared was what really prompted me to share this though. He said that the Murphy’s got their start in Boston, Massachusetts on a literal absolute fluke. Ken was a student at University of Massachusetts and never turned down a good gamble. His fellow mates at the bar bet him that he couldn’t put together a band and preform at least 2 songs at an open mic and win. Totally up for the challenge, Casey assembled the Dropkick Murphys and won the open mic, winning the bet. Not only did the Murphys win the open mic, they won a lifetime of great music and fame playing together. Ken Casey did drop out of college at UMass though to pursue a Celtic punk rock music career. However, like a true late bloomer, in April of 2021, Ken Casey decided to enroll at UMass and complete the Bachelors degree that he left unfinished years before.

As I left the concert on that Monday night, tired and beat to shit-literally. I felt not so alone again. I remembered that connection that I had felt when I went to Van Gogh’s exhibit and learned about his late blooming experience. Now, hearing about Ken Casey, who is 52 years old and has lived more than what most would consider a “full life”, I felt even better. These heroes of mine-they really are my heroes for a reason, it turns out.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started